Skip to content

Comprehensive Guide to the Asia Cup 2023: Everything You Need to Know

  • by
Men’s Asia Cup 2022: Six top cricketing nations compete for coveted title.

The much-awaited Men’s Asia Cup is all set to kick off on August 30th, featuring a battle among six top cricketing nations vying for the coveted title. Here’s a comprehensive guide to everything you need to know about this prestigious tournament.

Co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, the 16th edition of the Asia Cup will witness the participation of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, and Nepal. Notably, this will mark Nepal’s debut appearance in the tournament, earned by clinching victory in the ACC Men’s Premier Cup 2023, where they secured a triumphant win over the United Arab Emirates in the final by seven wickets.

The Asia Cup, which originated in 1984 in the ODI format, has in recent editions alternated between ODI and T20I formats. The 2023 edition, however, will follow the ODI (50-over) format.

In terms of historical success, India holds the record for the most titles with seven championships to their name, consisting of six ODI titles and one T20I title. Sri Lanka follows closely with a total of six titles, including five ODI championships and one T20I victory. Pakistan has clinched the Asia Cup trophy twice in their cricketing journey.

The teams have been divided into two groups for the group stage:

Group A:




Group B:



    Sri Lanka

The Asia Cup 2023 format unfolds with a group stage that begins on August 30th, where teams in each group face off in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group will then progress to the Super Four stage, another round-robin series of matches. The two best-performing teams from the Super Four will lock horns in the final match, scheduled for September 17th in Colombo.

A total of 13 matches will grace the Asia Cup 2023, spanning from August 30th to September 17th. During the group stage from August 30th to September 5th, three matches will be held in Pakistan, while the remaining fixtures will take place in Sri Lanka. The Super Four stage is slated for September 6th to 15th, with five matches set in Sri Lanka and one in Pakistan. The grand finale is set to unfold at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on September 17th.

The tournament will unfold across four prestigious venues:

In Pakistan:

    Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan

    Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

In Sri Lanka:

    Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

    R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

As cricket enthusiasts gear up for the action-packed tournament, the Asia Cup 2023 promises thrilling encounters, fierce rivalries, and moments of cricketing brilliance. Stay tuned for a cricketing spectacle that is set to captivate fans worldwide.

Asia Cup 2023 Fixtures:

Group Stage:

    30 Aug: Pakistan vs Nepal – Multan, Pakistan

    31 Aug: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka – Kandy, Sri Lanka

    2 Sep: Pakistan vs India – Kandy, Sri Lanka

    3 Sep: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan – Lahore, Pakistan

    4 Sep: India vs Nepal – Kandy, Sri Lanka

    5 Sep: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka – Lahore, Pakistan

Super Four Stage:

    6 Sep: A1 vs B2 – Lahore, Pakistan

    9 Sep: B1 vs B2 – Colombo, Sri Lanka

    10 Sep: A1 vs A2 – Colombo, Sri Lanka

    12 Sep: A2 vs B1 – Colombo, Sri Lanka

    14 Sep: A1 vs B1 – Colombo, Sri Lanka

    15 Sep: A2 vs B2 – Colombo, Sri Lanka


    17 Sep: Final – Colombo, Sri Lanka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *